Women’s teams return home with victories

May 26, 2018

The women’s pennant continued on Monday and both teams were winners this week.


The women’s pennant continued on Monday and both teams were winners this week. The division 1 team travelled to Alexandra to play Kilmore and had a 3/2 win. The division 2 team went in the other direction to Trentham to take on Strathbogie and won 3/1.

On Wednesday, it was great to see Dale Stuart (10), in only her second game back after a long injury break, winning the day with 35 points. The extra competition of the second shot on the 12th went to Ricky Rickman. The ball pool went to Dale Stuart, Shirley Wright and Dilva Grattan with 33 points.

In the men’s competition, Sandy Cresswell (18) had a day out when he scored a fantastic 44 points to comfortably win the stableford competition.

The runner-up was John Hedley (18) also with a good score of 41 points. The nearest the pins went to Mark Corradin on the 4th, Dave Hamilton on the 6th, Greg Pell on the 12th and Luke Meredith on the 17th. A score of 36 points was needed for a ball.

The mixed nine holes was won by Stubby Byrne (27) with 19 points. The next-best score went to Don Gee with 18 points with Phil Block and Dawn Leece making up the ball pool with 16 and 15 points respectively.

There was a three-way tie for the social 6 holes on Friday evening which was played over holes 1-6. Dave Pearce (6), Greg Pell (6) and Hans Berens (19) all had 13 points to share the honour of the win.

Another mild autumn day on Saturday saw the men play a stableford round. The best score of the day was in B grade with two golfers scoring 41 points. Cooper Lubeck (15) was the winner after a countback from Kevin Mulvaney.

The A grade winner was Peter Sawyer (7) with a nice score of 39 points.

The nearest the pin on the 4th was Rob Oldman, on the 6th Peter Sawyer was the closest, the 12th was won by Graeme Drummond and the 17th went to Peter Nelson. The drive and pitch on the 8th was won by John Boruch and the 15th went to Matt O’Sullivan. The ball pool went to those with 35 points or better.

The women played a four ball better ball stableford event for the Royal Women’s Hospital. The winning pair was Glenda Woods (13) and Dale Stuart (10), who had 41 points between them.

The runners-up were Irene Davey (18) and Pat Ferris (22), who scored 40 points. Both pairs will compete in the district final to be held at Alexandra in September.

The extra competition was the second shot on the sixth, which was won by Irene Davey.

The division two scratch team had one more round left in the men’s pennant. It took on Broadford when it played at Kilmore on Sunday to determine who would be in the finals.

Unfortunately the team had a narrow 3/4 loss and missed out on the finals for this year. That ends the men’s pennant for this year as none of the teams were able to make the finals.

It was great the club was able to field three teams though and thanks go to all the men who made themselves available to play and represent the club over the pennant season.

This week, the Friday night social 6 holes is stroke over holes 10-15. Saturday is a stroke round for both the men and women.


Tuesday May 15, was a stableford round which saw David Fullager collecting the voucher by a countback over Graeme Toy, with both players scoring 32 points. Graeme and Iris Sidebottom were ball winners but no-one claimed the NTP ball.

Last Saturday was stroke/monthly medal and early bird Jared Smith had a terrific score to finally break 80. His 79-12-67 won him the May Medal and a visit to the handicapper. Runner-up was Dale Smith with 73 nett and balls down the line went to Matt Eddy, Terry Lowis and Tim Batten. Once again the NTP and birdie balls remained with the club.

The Ladies also contested the monthly medal and Dee Wright was the winner by virtue of a countback over Marlene Hull, both players recording 75 nett. Balls went to Marlene Hull and Anne Burns. Anne also won NTP 2nd shot on the 8th.

The Ladies had a good win at home last Monday, defeating Lancefield 3/2, which moved them back to second on the ladder. Thanks to Pam Pedder and Maureen King for stepping up to fill in for the day.

Pam had a good win and Maureen put up a good fight but unfortunately went down. Marlene Hull was the other winner while Robin Lied and Lyn Carracher squared their matches. Thanks to Jan for sending the players out, Yvonne, Iris and Jan for getting the lunches ready and players for bringing delicious cakes and slices.

Our men’s team will be playing in the final this Sunday, but the venue is yet to be decided. It would be great if some members could get along to the course to support the players or alternatively come to the clubhouse afterwards to either celebrate or commiserate with them. Further details will be advised at golf on Saturday.

Speaking of Saturday — the day’s event will be a par round and Tuesday’s event is stableford.


A drama-packed Finnigan four-ball kicked off at Nagambie Golf Club on Sunday with plenty of good week one scores carded and controversy with three pairs being disqualified.

The leading pair are Greg Whiteman and Des Phelan with +7, a great score with both players combining well to achieve the result. A repeat of that score next week will surely see them take home the most sought-after trophy the club has on offer.

The next best score was Alby Seenan and Peter Lawrence putting together +5, beating Jeremy Ezard and Shaun Spicer on a countback for runner-up on the day.

The Ezard, Spicer pairing are the defending champions and are in an ideal position to go back-to-back. The controversies on the day were three cards returned with incorrect scores that are signed and submitted which services as a reminder that cards must be correct or disqualification is the outcome.

The nearest the pins were all won, proving the Finnigan four-ball brings the best out of the Nagambie golfers, the 3rd Dean Brown, 8th John James, 13th Mark Nolan and Shaun Spicer taking out the 16th.

Next week is the second round of the Finnigan four-ball V Par, sponsored by ABS Shepparton. On office duty is B.Cryer and in the bar W.LeCerf.

Nagambie women’s

Royal Women’s Hospital 4BBBB stableford.

Winning team with 40 points was Jo Goodacre and Deidre Kleinig

18 hole ball winners were Jo and Deidre.

NTP on 3rd was Irene Keogh and on 16th was Karyn Thompson.

Today will be stroke-1st round club championships, social club (2), Mona McLeod (2), Count Putts (2).

May 17 chicken run results:

Winner Glen Evans 21 points.

No NTP winner.

Next week will be par event to be played on back nine.

NTP on 13th hole.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text