Big weekend at Nagambie

October 27, 2017

Nagambie men

It was a big weekend of golf at Nagambie with two sponsored events played on Friday and Sunday.

The wind blew from the south for both days keeping the temperatures down and making scoring difficult.

The Bendigo Bank-sponsored event on Friday was a stableford with A-grade going to Shane McCormick on 33 points and B-grade taken out by Alan Labas with the best score of the day, 35 points.

The Top Pub-sponsored four-ball best-ball on Sunday produced some great scores with the winning pair of Glen Evans and Phil Hageman claiming the win with 48 stableford points.

Evans’ day was topped off with him winning three of the four nearest-the-pin prizes on offer, so he will certainly have plenty of vouchers to spend.

Runners-up with what should have been a match-winning score of 46 points were Barry Cryer and Ben Cassar, but unfortunately it was only enough for second place — bad luck boys.

The only other nearest-the-pin prize won on the day went to Paul Dickens from Kyabram Parklands on the 13th. Nagambie Golf Club would like to thank sponsors the Top Pub and Bendigo Bank for their generous support.

Next week’s golf will be the sixth round of the social club trophy, a stableford event with S. McCormick on office duty and T. Baldwin in the bar.

Nagambie women

Last Wednesday 10 players turned out for a Par round and the winner was Lynne McLean with plus six.

The nine-hole competition was won by Jenny Jeong with plus three.

The 18-hole balls were won by Lynne, Maureen King and Jo Goodacre and the nine-hole balls were won by Jenny, Lynne and Maureen on a count-back from Andrea Richards.

Nearest-the-pin on the third was Andrea Richards and on the 16th Jenny Jeong.

Today will be the winter closing day playing Ambrose with a shared lunch at the club house.

The Chicken run last Thursday was won by Glen Evans with plus three from a field of 17 players.

Nearest-the-pin was on the third but no winner was found.

Tomorrow will be a stroke round on the back nine.

At the tournament last Friday sponsored by Bendigo Bank, the winner of A-grade was Sally Bazeley with 37 points and Jo Goodacre was runner up with 34 points.

The B-grade winner was Barbara Schmidt from Quarry Hills with 36 points on a count-back from runner-up Ronda Richards.

The winners of nearest-the-pins were: third Helen Gilbert, 13th Sandra Davey (Quarry Hills) and 16th Lynne McLean.And the 4BBB tournament sponsored by the Royal Mail Hotel Nagambie was won by Lynne McLean and Renee Dickens (Ky Parkland) with 44 points on a count-back from Judi Redfern and Jane Bow.

Mozzie Fowler was nearest-the-pin on the 16th and Lorraine Smith (Mooroopna) on the 13th.


It was another full week of golf with more good scores coming off the course.

The women’s stableford event on Wednesday was won by Shirley Wright (14) with 36 points.

Shirley also won the extra competition of the best nine in score with 19 points.

The ball pool went to Shirley Wright, Pam Jarvis and Dilva Grattan with 32 on a count-back.

In the men’s competition Jerry Bender (24) had a great score of 40 points to win the day.

The runner-up was Michael Papworth (17) also with a good score of 39 points.

The nearest-the-pins went to Bill Brock on the fourth, Dave Pearce on the sixth, Gary Wright on the 12th and John Davey on the 17th.

To get a ball a score of 37 points was needed.

The mixed nine-hole competition was won by Dawn Leece (37) with 13 points.

The Friday social nine holes were played over holes seven to 15 and it was a stableford round.

The winner was Terry Lemon (16) with 19 points.

The next best score went to Gary Wright (15) with 18 points.

On Saturday it was the penultimate round of the championships for both men and women and it certainly looks like there will be some tight finishes in the results next week.

In the men’s competition the A-grade winner was Mark Fountain with a terrific score of 79-11=68 on a count-back from Bill Brock.

The B-grade winner was Lachlan Mullins with a steady score of 94-24=70.

The best scratch score on the day went to Joey Passmore with a nice 73 off the stick.

The nearest-the-pin on the fourth was Kevin Mulvaney, the sixth was won by Graham Welsh, on the 12th Mark Fountain was the closest and on the 17th it was Dave Enricho.

The drive and pitch on the eighth was won by John Porter and the 15th went to Mark Fountain.

The ball pool went to those with net 73 or better.

There were also two eagles with Greg Pell and Joey Passmore scoring those on the 16th and 11th respectively. Going into the final round of the championships Matt O’Sullivan and Greg Pell are tied on 228 for the club champion title with Joey Passmore four shots back.

In B-grade Bill Brock is leading on 254 from Mark Fountain on 257 and Gary Wright on 258.

Rob Oldman is the leader of C-grade with 275 and John Muscovich is five back on 280.

In the women’s results on Saturday, Sue McCall had the best round of the day to win A-grade with 86-16=70.

The B-grade winner was Liz Gee with 99-73=76.

Di Lemon won the nearest-the-pin on the 17th hole. The ball pool went to Sue McCall, Jane Fletcher, Shirley Wright and Di Byrne with net 75.

With one round to go in the championships, Shirley Wright is in the lead for the club champion title with 172 and Sue McCall is five back on 177 with Di Byrne on 178.

Di Stammers is leading for the B-grade champion title with 195 and Liz Gee is on 202, seven shots back.

This week the Friday social nine holes will be stableford over holes 10-18.

Saturday is final round of the club championships for both men and women. Good luck to all those in contention in the championships. This will be followed by a presentation night from 7pm. Please put names on the list in the clubhouse to attend dinner at the presentation night.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text